• Facebook Twitter

Men’s Lacrosse Earns Post-Season Awards

05/06/2014 – After completing the best season in team history, the Aquinas College men’s lacrosse team earned numerous individual honors to go with their team success. Five Saints earned all-conference recognition, while four were named to the all-academic team.

At the WHAC conference tournament three weeks ago, three Saints were named All-WHAC. Junior Tim Hansen and sophomores Grant Holloway and Christian VanDrie each earned Honorable-Mention status. Four Saints were named WHAC All-Academic. Hansen was joined by Don Boyer, Mitch Ringer and Jack VanWieren. Members of the All-Academic team maintained a 3.25 G.P.A and have junior or senior status. Senior Mark Evans was named as the Saints’ Champion of Character representative.

A total of five Saints earned CCLA All-Conference honors. All five were named Honorable Mention by the CCLA, considered by many to be the toughest conference in the MCLA. Holloway was honored at attack after setting school records with 42 goals and 60 points. Hansen was honored as a faceoff-specialist for the second year in a row after winning 62% of his faceoffs and scooping 105 groundballs. Mark Evans was a repeat honoree at the defensive-midfielder position, scoring three goals and recording 34 groundballs. Christian VanDrie was honored as one of the top longstick-midfielders after causing 20 turnovers and adding three assists. Defenseman Matt Mulcahy became the first Saints freshman to earn All-CCLA honors after leading the Saints with 23 caused turnovers and adding seven points.

More News Stories