• Facebook Twitter

Men's Lacrosse

2104 Men's Lacrosse Team
Head Coach: Doug Seites (2nd year)
Assistant Coach: Dan Patrone (1st Year)
Student Manager: Jake Ringer (2nd year)

2013-14 Record: 10-5, 2-2 CCLA DII West

Schedule & Results | Team Roster | Coach Profiles
Season Review | Post-Season Awards | The Field
Statistics: 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014
Prospective Athlete Questionnaire

2014-15 Schedule & Results

Sat., Mar. 7 @ Robert Morris (IL) Chicago, Ill. 2:00 PM  

Mon., Mar. 9

@ Missouri Baptist Crove Ceur, MO. 3:00 PM  
Wed., Mar 11 @ Lindenwood-Belleville Belleville, Ill.

7:00 PM

Sat., Mar 21 Judson Grand Rapids, MI.

12:00 PM

Sun., Mar 22 Northwood Grand Rapids, MI. 12:00 PM  
Sat., Mar 28 @ Lawrence Tech (Detroit Country Day HS) Beverly Hills, MI. 7:00 PM  
Sun., Mar 29 Saginaw Valley State Grand Rapids, MI. 5:00 PM  
Wed. Apr 8 @ Grand Valley State Allendale, MI. 7:00 PM  
Sat., Apr 11 UM-Dearborn Grand Rapids, MI. 2:00 PM  
Sun., Apr 12 Oakland Grand Rapids, MI. 2:00 PM  
Wed., Apr 15 Siena Heights Grand Rapids, MI. 5:00 PM  
Sat., Apr 18 @ Lourdes Sylvania, OH. 2:00 PM  


No. Photos Name Yr. Pos Ht. Hometown/High School (College)
0 Jimmy Watt Jimmy Watt Sr. G 5-9 Walled Lake, Mich./Walled Lake Northern/OCC
2 Christian Van Drie Christian Van Drie Jr. LSM 5-7 Grand Haven, Mich./Grand Haven
3 Tim Hansen Tim Hansen Sr. M 6-0 Diamondale, Mich./Lansing Catholic Central
4 Ben Majeske Ben Majeske Jr. M 5-8 Holt, Michigan/Holt/Michigan State
5 Brody Smith Brody Smith Fr. LSM 5-10 Grand Haven, Mich./Grand Haven
6 Will Comai Will Comai Jr. M 5-8 Battle Creek, Michigan/Pennfield
7 Matt Mulcahy Matt Mulcahy So. D 6-0 Grand Haven, Mich./Grand Haven
8 Paul Sommerville Paul Sommerville Fr. D 6-0 Plymouth/Salem
9 Nate Cantin Nate Cantin So. M 5-9 Novi. Mich./Detroit Catholic
11 Alec Rasegan Alec Rasegan Sr. G 6-3 South Lyon, Mich./South Lyon
14 Chris Rowe Chris Rowe Jr. M 6-1 Flushing, Mich./Flint Powers
15 Mitch Ringer Mitch Ringer Sr. M 6-0 Tecumseh, Mich./Tecumseh
16 Ryan Ruschmann Ryan Ruschmann Jr. M 6-6 Grand Rapids, Mich./Northview
17 Adam Zacha Adam Zacha Fr. D 6-4 Grand Rapids, Mich./Forest Hills Northern
19 Don Boyer Don Boyer Sr. D 5-10 Howell, Mich./Hartland
20 Zack Brancheau Zack Brancheau Sr. A 5-7 Adrian, Mich./Tecumseh
21 Tyler Morris Tyler Morris Jr. A 6-3 Lowell, Mich./Lowell
22 Jacob Giddings Jacob Giddings Jr. M 5-11 Spring Lake, Mich./Spring Lake
23 Lance Siegel Lance Siegel So. D 5-11 Grand Rapids, Mich./Northview
24 Jack VanWieren Jack VanWieren Jr. M 5-11 Grand Rapids, Mich./Northview
26 Austin Phillips Austin Phillips Jr. D 6-6 Rockford, Mich./Rockford
27 Chris Wilder Chris Wilder So. A 6-3 Plymouth, Mich./Gabriel Richard
30 Jacob MacKinder Jacob MacKinder Fr. G 6-3 Grand Rapids, Mich/Catholic Central
33 Austin Ensing Austin Ensing Sr. D 6-1 Zeeland, Mich./Holland Christian
37 Dylan Oxender Dylan Oxender Sr. M 5-8 Haslett, Mich./Haslett
49 Michael Samalik Michael Samalik Fr. M 6-3 Sterling Heights, Mich./Warren De La Salle
55 Liam Ryan Liam Ryan So. M 6-0 Kalamazoo, Mich./Hackett Catholic
62 Jake Auyer Jake Auyer Sr. A 6-0 Kalamazoo, Mich./Mattawan
66 Photo Not Available Kyle Foley Jr. A 6-1 Chicago, Illinois/Lane Tech
99 Grant Holloway Grant Holloway Jr. A 6-3 Royal Oak, Mich./Royal Oak/Oakland Communtiy College


Doug Seites

Doug Seites - Head Coach


(616)- 632-3297 (Office)


Coach Seites played three years of lacrosse at Aquinas College, playing midfield and taking face-offs. A graduate of Kent City High School in Kent City, MI this former basketball and baseball star found his way to the lacrosse field while at college and became a two-year captain. A 2010 graduate, Coach Seites majored in History with a minor in Writing. Since graduation, he has played with the Westside Blue Dragons Post-Collegiate team, and is a member of the Grand River Lacrosse Club. Coach Seites has also given his time to coach lacrosse at the Grand Rapids YMCA.

Dan Patrone

Dan Patrone - Assistant Coach



Joining the Saints for his first year as assistant coach and defensive coordinator, Dan Patrone brings with him a wealth of lacrosse experience, especially on the defensive side of the field. Coach Patrone was a three-year varsity player at Hamburg High School in Hamburg, New York. At Hamburg, Coach Patrone was a team captain, two-time All-Conference defender and team defensive MVP. Dan began his coaching career as a U13 coach for Hoosier Lacrosse in 2012. He worked as an assistant and defensive coach for Taylor University from 2012-13 and coached an All-CCLA honorable mention LSM.  In 2013-14, Coach Patrone was an assistant and defensive coach at Division III Wilmington College. He also coached for the boys’ varsity team at Walnutt Hill High School in the Cincinnati area in 2014. 


Season Review

The 2014 edition of the Aquinas College men’s lacrosse team earned its fourth consecutive appearance in the CCLA Playoffs, falling to National #1 Dayton in the quarter-finals. The Saints finished the season 10-5, setting a new school-record for wins in a season. The team tied the school record with a five game winning streak and found itself receiving votes in the Top-25 six different times.


Five Saints earned CCLA honors for their stellar play. Mark Evans (Defensive-Midfield), Tim Hansen (Faceoff Midfield), Grant Holloway (Attack), Matt Mulcahy (Defense) and Christian VanDrie (Longstick Midfield) were all named 3rd team All-CCLA by the conference coaches. Hansen, Holloway and VanDrie were also named honorable-mention All-WHAC for their play. Evans was named as the Saints' Champion of Character. Along with Hansen, Don Boyer, Mitch Ringer and Jack VanWieren were named Academic All-WHAC for their success on the field and in the classroom.


Post Season Awards

Most Valuable Player Award
2014 Jimmy Watt
2013 Connor Sutton
2012 James Burkhardt
2011 Nate McCorry
2010 James Burkhardt
2009 Nick Avendt
Most Valuable Offensive Player
2014 Grant Holloway
2013 Zack Brancheau
2012 Nate McCorry
2011 Ty Rosema
Most Valuable Defensive Player 2014 Matt Mulcahy
2013 Jimmy Watt
2012 Connor Sutton
2011 James Burkhardt
Most Improved 2014 Jack VanWieren
  2013 Jake Auyer
Rookie of the Year 2014 Matt Scheffler
  2013 Christian VanDrie
100 Career Points 124 - Ty Rosema 2009-2012
122- Zack Brancheau 2012-present
122 - Nate McCorry  2009-2012
107 - Mike Matych 2009-2011
CCLA Honors
2014 Mark Evans (3rd Team D-Mid), Tim Hansen (3rd Team FOS), Grant Holloway (3rd Team Att), Matt Mulcahy (3rd Team Defense), Christian VanDrie (3rd Team LSM)
2013 Connor Sutton (2nd Team Defense), Mark Evans (HM D-Mid), Tim Hansen (HM FOS)
2012 James Burkhardt (2nd Team Defense), Ty Rosema (HM Attack)
2011 Jacob Jeffers (HM FOS)
2010 James Burkhardt (HM Defense), Mike Matych (HM Attack)
2009 Nick Avendt (1st Team Goalie) -CCLA D2 Goalie of the Year
WHAC Honors

2104 Don Boyer (All-Academic), Mark Evans (Champion of Character), Tim Hansen (HM Mid/All-Academic)), Grant Holloway (HM Attack), Mitch Ringer (All-Academic), Christian VanDrie (HM LSM), Jack VanWieren (All-Academic)

  2013 Jake Auyer (HM Attack), Zack Brancheau (HM Attack), Tim Hansen (HM Mid),

Connor Sutton (HM Defense/All-Academic), Jimmy Watt (HM Goalie), Jack VanWieren (WHAC Champion of Character)

MCLA Honors 2013 Connor Sutton (HM All-America)
2012 James Burkhardt (HM All-America) (Academic All-America)

The Field

Aquinas College Athletic Field (At left:) With synthetic turf installed during summer 2007, Aquinas becomes the first member of the Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference (WHAC) to have an artificial playing surface for lacrosse and soccer.