• Facebook Twitter

Saints Claim WHAC Championship

11/10/2013 – The men's cross country won the WHAC title for the third consecutive year and tenth time in the last twelve years. The Saints placed seven runners in the top ten of the race to outdistance themselves from second place Indiana Tech. The Saints will now travel to the NAIA National Championships in Lawrence, Kansas next weekend.

Zach Stepanovich, who placed third overall, led seven Saints through the chute in a time of 25:47. Aquinas used a :27 1-7 gap to net a total team score of 25 points. The 2-5 scoring positions were filled in by Grant Gunneson (4th - 26:01), Steve Glinski (5th - 26:02), Jacob Towne (6th - 26:07) and Jeff Cherry (7th - 26:09). All five athletes landed on the All-WHAC first team with their efforts from Saturday. Dan Foley (8th - 26:10) and Brendan Molony (10th - 26:14) both were recognized on the All-WHAC Honorable Mention squad for placing in the top 14.

Jesus Alvarado was Aquinas' representative on the WHAC's Champions of Character team as well as being honored on the All-WHAC Academic team. The Saints were also represented by Blake Bitner, Dan Foley, Kevin Mahar, Alex Martinez, Brad Perschbacher and Zach Stepanovich on the All-Academic squad. Coach Mike Wojciakowski was honored as the WHAC Men's Cross Country "Coach of the Year".

Final Team Standings:

1. Aquinas 25
2. Indiana Tech 55
3. Siena Heights 84
4. Cornerstone 127
5. Davenport 133
6. Madonna 186
7. UM-Dearborn 192
8. Lawrence Tech 216
9. Concordia 232
10. Lourdes 298

More News Stories