• Facebook Twitter

2014 NAIA Daktronics Scholar Athletes Announced

05/2914 – Aquinas College was represented by 16 of their spring athletes on the NAIA Daktronics Scholar-Athlete teams. The criteria to earn this honor is to have either junior or senior status and carry a 3.5 or higher G.P.A.

The men's baseball team, who recently completed a 23-win season, was represented by one individual. Brad Slis met and surpassed the standards and earned his first Daktronics Scholar-Athlete award. The men's tennis team had a pair of two-time recipients as Aaron Hendrick and Nik Artaev finished their careers with a combined total of six All American honors for athletics and academics.

The softball team was represented by Rebecca Shineldecker
who received the honor for the second time in her career.

The track and field teams had twelve current members receive the honor handed down by the NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics). First time recipients included Michael Shearon and Dana Kolnitys. Alex Martinez, Brad Perschbacher, Alicia Dorko, Krystin Dreyer, Emily Hazelbach and Erika Heston experienced their second award, while the trio of Dan Foley, Jessica Dippel and Rachael Steil all received the award for the fourth time. Kevin Mahar notched his sixth Scholar Athlete award.

More News Stories