Contemporary Writers Series  


  • Follow us online! Facebook Twitter

2002 - 2003 Featured Writers

Linda Pastan Oct. 3, 2002 (Lacks Center); Lunch talk: Oct. 4 (Loutit Room)
Peter Carey Oct. 17, 2002; Lunch talk: Oct. 17 (Wege Ballroom)
Sydney Lea March 4, 2003; Lunch talk (Wege Ballroom)
Eric Pankey April 3, 2003; Lunch talk: April 4 (Loutit Room)
Note: All lectures are at 7:30 p.m. in the Wege Ballroom unless otherwise noted. All lunch talks are at 12:30 p.m.
Linda Pastan - Oct. 3, 2002
Linda Pastan Works by Linda Pastan:
The Last Uncle (2002); Carnival Evening: New and Selected Poems, 1968-1998; Heroes in Disguise: Poems (1991); Death of a Parent (1985)
Linda Pastan, poet laureate of Maryland from 1991 through 1994, has received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and from the Maryland Arts Council. She has won the Dylan Thomas Award, the Di Castagnola Award, The Bess Hokin Prize of Poetry magazine, the Virginia Faulkner Award from Prairie Schooner, and a Pushcart Prize. "A Fraction of Darkness" won the Maurice English Award; "PM/AM: New and Selected Poems" was a nominee for the National Book Award; and " The Imperfect Paradise" was nominated for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. Pastan lives in Potomac, Maryland. (Source:
Peter Carey - Oct. 17, 2002
Peter Carey Works by Peter Carey:
Jack Maggs (1999); Oscar and Lucinda (1997); Illywhacker (1996); The Unusual Life of Tristan Smith (1996)
Peter Carey was born in Australia in 1943, and lives in New York City with his wife, Alison Summers, and their two sons. The author of six previous novels and a collection of stories, he won the Booker Prize for Oscar and Lucinda; his other honors include the Commonwealth Prize and the Miles Franklin Award. (Source: Random House)
Sydney Lea - March 4, 2003
Sydney Lea Works by Sydney Lea:
Pursuit of a Wound (2000); A Place in Mind (1997); To the Bone: New and Selected Poems (1996)

Sydney Lea, founder and for 13 years editor of New England Review, is author of six collections of poetry, the latest of which, To the Bone: New and Selected Poems, won the 1997-98 Poets' Prize. His other collections include Searching the Drowned Man, The Floating Candles, No Sign, Prayer for the Little City, and The Blainville Testament. Recipient of fellowships from the Guggenheim, Rockefeller and Fulbright Foundations, he has taught at Dartmouth, Yale, Middlebury, and Wesleyan. He is author of a novel, A Place in Mind, and a collection of memoirist essays, Hunting the Whole Way Home. He lives in Newbury, Vermont, with his wife and five children. His seventh verse collection, Pursuit of a Wound, was published in 2000. (Source: AOL)
Eric Pankey - April 3, 2003
Photo credit: Clare Atkinson-Pankey Works by Eric Pankey:
Cenotaph (2001); The Late Romances: Poems (1999); Heartwood: Poems (1998)


Interview with Eric Pankey
Two poems
Eric Pankey was educated at the University of Missouri and the University of Iowa. His first book of poems, "For the New Year," received the Academy of American Poets' Walt Whitman Award in 1984. His second book, "Heartwood," was published in 1988 and his third, "Apocrypha," in 1991. He has received grants from the Ingram Merrill Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts. He lives in Fairfax, Virginia, where he teaches at George Mason University. (Source: Random House)