Marketing & Communications  


September 20, 2005 - Aquinas College will honor eleven individuals who have distinguished themselves for service within their communities, to Aquinas or as former Aquinas athletes. Eight of the honorees will be inducted into either the College Hall of Fame or its Athletic Hall of Fame. Three Alumni Awards will also be presented. The eleven will be honored during the College's annual Hall of Fame Gala, which will be held this Friday, September 23, 2005, in the Wege Student Center Ballroom, beginning with a cocktail reception at 6:30 p.m. The ceremony will begin at 8 p.m.

Among those receiving alumni honors will be alumnus, Dr. Juan Olivarez '71, president of Grand Rapids Community College (GRCC), who will receive the Alumni Association's Outstanding Alumni Award for his work as an outstanding educator, community leader and as a "role model" for all students. Another GRCC employee, Tom Hofmann '61, will be inducted into the Aquinas Athletic Hall of Fame as a former baseball player and will also receive the College's first athletic Lifetime Achievement Award.

Others athletes entering the College's Athletic Hall of Fame are: Mike Hagan '83 (Soccer) of Grand Rapids; Mauro Caporuscio '83 (Soccer) of Macomb Township, Michigan; Sherry Wilder '65 (Golf), Aquinas' first lady of golf who was among the first three women in the nation given scholarships to compete on collegiate men's golf teams; and Dennis Alexander '67 (Basketball) of Southfield, Michigan.

Aquinas will also induct into the College Hall of Fame three individuals who are being recognized for service to the College community. They include: Patrick Quinn '58, a current trustee of the College; and two posthumous awards to Lewis B Clingman, Ph.D. (1946-1976), a former longtime professor of history; and Gertrude Horgan, former dean of women and professor of English (1955-1979).

The other Alumni Awards will be the College's Alumni Association Board Member of the Year Award which will be announced Friday night and a posthumous award to Estelita "Stella" Ferris '86, the College's former director of Multicultural Affairs (1989-2002), who was selected for the Distinguished Service Award.