Theology: Scholarships


Lay Ecclesial Ministry Scholarship
This scholarship was established by Fr. Melvin E. Fox to provide tuition assistance to lay ecclesial ministers, and to persons aspiring to lay ecclesial ministry, for theology courses at Aquinas College. They may be part-time or full-time students. They may be already degreed and seeking on-going education. Preference will be given to non-traditional students and to those who have experience in ministry. Applications will include a personal statement of vision and intent for ministry, and two references. The references will include one recommendation from a pastor and one recommendation from a lay ecclesial minister or deacon who is not related to the applicant.

The Bishop Joseph M. Breitenbeck Memorial Scholarship
Financial assistance will be offered to students pursuing studies in church management, pre-law, sociology and work with women and children or handicapped individuals. Funding for the scholarship endowment was provided through a gift from the Wege Foundation and the family and friends of Bishop Breitenbeck.
Father Bernard A. Hall Memorial Scholarship Fund
This scholarship is provided through a bequest from Fr. Bernard that established an award for undergraduate students or for students pursuing master's degrees. It is intended for high-achieving students who demonstrate financial need and involvement in their community or church. Applicants must have a minimum GPA of 3.0.
Adele M. Milanowski Memorial Scholarship
This scholarship offers financial assistance to full-time students with a declared major in theology at Aquinas College. Funding is derived from a scholarship endowment fund established through a bequest by Miss Milanowski, a life-long resident of Grand Rapids, and contributions from her friends and relatives. Eligible applicants must be full-time undergraduate students with a minimum 3.0 GPA. Award selection is made by the Chair of the Theology Department and the Director of Financial Aid.
Monsignor Charles W. Popell Scholarship (Traditional Only)
This scholarship is awarded to a graduate of one of the four Catholic high schools in the Grand Rapids Diocese (Grand Rapids West Catholic High School, Grand Rapids Catholic Central High School, Muskegon Catholic Central High School, and Portland St. Patrick High School). Recipients must possess a strong faith commitment, carry a cumulative GPA of 3.0, and demonstrate leadership and service to school, church, or community.
Bishop Britt Scholarship (Traditional Only)
This scholarship is awarded to one student from each of the following high schools in the Grand Rapids Diocese: St. Patrick's High School, Muskegon Catholic High School, Catholic Central High School, and West Catholic High School. Financial need is a factor in consideration for this award.