Pi Sigma Alpha

Psi Upsilon is the Aquinas College Chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the National Political Science Honor Society. Pi Sigma Alpha was founded in 1920 for the purpose of bringing together students and faculty interested in the study of government and politics. Psi Upsilon was chartered in May, 2000.
Psi Upsilon qualifications for membership are:

  1. Political Science Major
  2. Junior Year Status
  3. 3.25 GPA in Political Science
  4. Minimum of 10 Credit Hours of Political Science Courses
  5. Membership Fee

Psi Upsilon has many members under the advisorship of Dr. Molly Patterson and Dr. Roger Durham.
The purpose of Pi Sigma Alpha is "to stimulate scholarship and intelligent interest in political science." The society functions at the national level, sponsoring programs and events of value to the profession and teaching of political science, and at the chapter level.
Pi Sigma Alpha offers a number of academic awards:

  1. Best Paper Awards for Graduate and Undergraduate Students, for which each chapter advisor may nominate one undergraduate and one graduate student paper per year.
  2. Howard Penniman Scholarships for Graduate Study, awarded annually to three undergraduates entering graduate programs in political science.
  3. Best Advisor Awards, to honor long-serving chapter advisors whose contribution to his or her chapter has been outstanding.
  4. Best Chapter Awards, are cash awards of $500 to one or two chapters in each of three college enrollment categories.
  5. APSA Student Membership Awards. Each chapter is entitled to award a one-year student membership in the American Political Science Association to one outstanding student each year.
  6. The Franklin L. Burdette Award for the best paper presented at the APSA Annual Meeting.
  7. Best Paper Awards at Regional Political Science Association Meetings.